top of page

Target Teacher Finds


Calling all Target Teachers...

Yea I'm talking to you...the one who spends way too much money in Target as it is. We all can't possibly avoid that cute little, enticing section at Target that we all know as the "dollar spot". No matter what you are going for, when those front doors open and you see the dollar spot, you just can't help but stop and spend no less than 20 minutes "browsing" for things that you don't possibly need. Is this just me?

Nothing could have prepared me for the day in June when I walked in and it was FULL of teaching things!!! My ten minute, quick trip (haha is there such a thing when going to Target) turned into 45 minutes of deciding what to get and how to use it and 4 trips back after going home and deciding I needed everything I didn't get on the previous trip. Not to mention stopping at Super Target on vacation because I knew they would have different things then our local store.

I know I can't be the only one who was excited at my awesome finds. Some of them left me wondering how to use them! Well here is a list of some of my favorite finds on my Target Dollar Spot adventures! I hope this helps someone decide on what to do with ALL the awesome finds!

Leveled Readers- Our parish teaches out of Journeys. I found 2 different leveled Readers that were informational text. The two different readers are on Topics we teach about in Journeys (Penguins and Dinosaurs). I can't wait to use these as supplements for the students to learn more knowledge about our topics. These can go in centers to practice fluency, be used to introduce and build excitement, for higher students to broaden knowledge, compare the two texts...the list goes on and on. $1 each!

Pocket Charts- Who can't use a good pocket chart? I am using mine to display weekly spelling words and vocabulary. $3 each

Nifty Dry Erase Sentence Strips-To go along with those pocket charts, I found some awesome sentence strip that are dry erase!! $1 for a pack

Rewards- I got some super cute generic certificates! I love just randomly rewarding students for many different things and what better way then a colorful certificate! I also got some woodland themed erasers and bookmarks! All great for rewards throughout the year! All....you guess it $1

Oh holy stamps- Target made me ready to get my stamp on! They had super cute packs of stamps and stamp pads! $3 for a pack of 5 stamps

Felt Games-I got checkers, memory and tic-tac-toe in a cute felt material! I can't wait to let my kiddos play them on rainy recess days! $3

Felt Money-In 2nd grade, we teach money. I got some sets of felt money! I can't wait to add some Velcro to these puppies. My students will have so much fun coming up to the felt board and making different dollar amounts! $3

Containers, Containers, Containers- They had containers in all shapes and sizes! I got some containers to use for my inbox (where students turn in papers) and some pencil holders! $1

Adhesive Pocket Labels- I got some adhesive pockets that you just throw a label in and boom! anything you can imagine is nice and labeled and can be interchanged! Stay tuned for a fun way I am going to use these on my students desk ;) $3 for a 20 pack

***Click the picture above to snag your editable labels that fit in these adhesive pockets!

Flashcards- I picked up some phonics and money flashcards. They had tons of multiplication, addition and basically anything else you could think of! $1

These are just some of my favorite things I got! Go out to Target and pick up some dollar spot goodies! Share your dollar spot finds and how you plan to use them below!!!

Meet the Teacher

I'm a coffee drinking, football loving, Starbucks obsessed 2nd grade teacher! I have an amazing husband and a beautiful daughter! I am so excited you are joining me on my fun, crazy ride as a teacher!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page