top of page

Mentor Sentences

If you have not heard about mentor sentences, you are really missing out! I learned about mentor sentences here. Jivey is amazing with mentor sentences and has free webinars about how to implement them. Mentor sentences are a great way to stop teaching grammar in isolation. In a few words, mentor sentences show students great writing using the story they are reading. With this sentence, you teach students the grammar or writing skill you would like to focus on all while reinforcing previous grammar skills. The object is TO SHOW STUDENTS GREAT WRITING.

Our district is using the Journey's reading series and in 2nd grade we have decided to implement mentor sentences in our daily routine. I thought I would share the mentor sentences we have chosen for each story with other teachers that teach Journey's as well.

Here is my first packet that goes along with the first story in Journey's: Henry and Mudge The First Book.

Click the picture above to grab yours!

Meet the Teacher

I'm a coffee drinking, football loving, Starbucks obsessed 2nd grade teacher! I have an amazing husband and a beautiful daughter! I am so excited you are joining me on my fun, crazy ride as a teacher!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page